Child pages
  • Manage People and Group Privileges
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You can designate specific people to submit, edit, accept/reject, and/or administer your collection by assigning individuals or groups to certain roles. However, in order to assign a person or group to a role, they must first exist in the system. 

Create People/Groups

Collection administrators do not have the ability to create people; each person must first create his or her own account by logging into the system (http://scholarworks.iu.edu/dspace/) and choosing Register on the left navigation bar.

Instead of assigning individual people to multiple roles, it is often more efficient to create a group of people that you assign to each role. If, in the future, a person is no longer affiliated with your collection, it is easier to remove that person from one group than from multiple roles. Because collection administrators do not have the authority to create and assign people to groups, you will need to contact an IUSW administrator at iusw@indiana.edu to set this up for you.

Assign Roles

After the people and groups that will interact with your collection have been created, login to the system and navigate to your collection.

In the left-hand toolbar, under Context, click on Edit Collection.

Click on the Assign Roles tab. You will see a list of six roles:

  • Role Administrators
  • Submitters
  • Default read access
  • Accept/Reject Step
  • Accept/Reject/Edit Metadata Step
  • Edit Metadata Step

Please read each definition of the roles on the DSpace screen to fully understand them. 

Essentially, there are two roles that must be filled out to get items archived in the repository: Administrators and Submitters.  You can leave the Default Read Access role alone – it’s set-up for an Open Access institutional repository.

The other three roles depend on how much control you wish to assert over how items move into the collection. If someone submits to the collection and no person or group is associated to edit their submitted metadata and/or accept-reject their submission, the submitter’s item gets automatically and immediately archived in the repository.

IF, however, you have staff who are going to address/edit a submitter’s metadata, then you need people/groups in the Edit Metadata Step.  Further, if staff are going to look over a submitter’s item before it is archived, you need people in the Accept/Reject Step.  Now, if you have a small staff, or are organized in such a way – you can take advantage of combining the Accept/Reject/Edit Metadata step into one group. 

Add Role

  • Click on Create next to the name of the role.

  • To add an individual person to the role, type his or her name into the search box and click on E-People.
  • To add an entire group to the role, type the name of the group in the search box and click on Group.
  • Click Add next to the name of the person/group.
  • Click Save.

Remove Role

  • Click on Delete next to the name of the role.
  • On the confirmation page, click Delete again.

 

  • No labels