- "Add to Playlist" - "Reorder" - "Copy" - "Edit" - "Add Marker"
Creating a Playlist
Select "Create New Playlist" in the Playlist feature. All playlists require a name; the description field is not required.
Playlists can be specified as either public, private, or shareable by a unique link. See below for instructions on sharing a playlist.
Adding Items To a Playlist
When viewing or listening to an item, select the "Add to Playlist" icon located in the media player. If the item is a multiple section or multiple sub-section item, only the currently playing portion will be added to the playlist. The title and description of a playlist item can be edited according to a user's preference at this time.
The start and end times of a playlist can be edited if the track should start further in (to highlight a specific section) or end early (in the case of dead air or blank space).
Some items are part of a larger media object. The larger media object can be added to a playlist by selecting the "Add to Playlist" icons located in the item structure below the media player. When selected, the user has several choices:
- Add each section of an object as a single item to a playlist–3 sections of an item will create 3 playlist items
- Create multiple playlist items from subsections when possible–3 sections with 5 items each will create 15 playlist items
The details of these items (title, description, and start/end times) can edited in the "Edit Playlist" view.
Editing a Playlist or Playlist Items
Playlists and playlist items can be edited in several ways:
- Playlists can be copied in their entirety
- Playlist title, description, and visibility can be edited
- Details of playlist items can be edited
- Playlist items can be removed, reordered, copied, or moved to a different playlist
To copy a playlist, select the "Copy" action while viewing all playlists. Playlist details–title, description, and visibility–changed be changed before creating the copied playlist.
To edit a playlist, select the "Edit" action while viewing all playlists. To edit playlist details–title, description, and visibility–select the "Edit" icon next to "Playlist Details." Playlist item details–title, start and end times, and comments–can be edited similarly by selecting the "Edit" icon for the corresponding item.
Playlist items can be reordered individually by selecting the reorder icon and moving the item manually, or all items can be reordered simultaneously by entering in new values in the order field adjacent to the reorder icon. Playlist items can also be copied or moved to a different playlist by marking an item's checkbox and using the "Copy To..." and "Move To..." actions.
Adding a Marker to a Playlist Item
Markers refer to specific points of time in a media object; they are similar to bookmarks in other applications. Markers can only be added while viewing playlist items from within a playlist, and they can only be added to a playlist item by the playlist creator. To add a marker, select the "Add Marker" icon located in the media player when viewing an item. The time stamp of the marker automatically defaults to the current time in the media object, but it can be edited by the user if needed. Markers can also be edited or deleted at a later date by using the drop-down list of markers when viewing the playlist item from within a playlist.
If the playlist's visibility is public, the markers will be usable by other viewers, but not editable.
Sharing a Playlist
Private playlists can not be shared with others; they require authentication and only the creator may access a private playlist.
To share a playlist, the playlist visibility must be public or shareable by link. Public playlist can be seen and accessed by anyone; pass on the generic URL to others (through email, a Learning Management System, syllabus, etc.) and they will be able to view your playlist.
A playlist that is shareable by link will generate a unique URL, through which the playlist is temporarily available. Only those who have the unique link will be able to view the playlist. A new link can be generated from the "Edit Playlist" view; generating a new link will cause the old link to stop working, barring access to previous users.
Any details belonging to either the playlist or the playlist items (start and end times, comments, markers, titles, etc.) will be saved and passed along to a viewer.